Elaine S. Jaffe, MD
AACR James S. Ewing-Thelma B. Dunn Award for Outstanding Achievement in Pathology in Cancer Research

Elaine S. Jaffe, MD

NIH Distinguished Investigator, Laboratory of Pathology
Head, Hematopathology Section, Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, Maryland

For her groundbreaking modern approaches to the classification of lymphoid system neoplasms. An astute diagnostician, her clinical and investigational studies have been intertwined to enhance our understanding of tumors of the immune system by revolutionizing the integration of traditional pathological methods with immunologic and genomic approaches and describing multiple new disease entities that have resulted in pivotal changes to clinical practice and patient management.

The AACR established this award in 2021 in honor of James S. Ewing, MD, and Thelma B. Dunn, MD. Dr. Ewing, often referred to as the “Chief of Cancer Pathology,” is best known for his discovery of Ewing sarcoma. Notably, Dr. Ewing was also one of the AACR’s 11 founding members in 1907 and served as the first AACR president from 1907-1909. Over fifty years later, in 1961, Dr. Dunn was elected as the first female AACR president. Dr. Dunn is renowned for her innovative efforts to promote the use of animal models in cancer research and for her development of transplantable mouse mast-cell tumor lines, which have been widely used to advance cancer research. Today, pathologists continue to build upon the legacy of these two quintessential pioneers through their cancer research contributions directed toward advancing our knowledge of cancer through basic, translational, and clinical pathology research.

This award is intended to recognize and celebrate pathologists who have significantly contributed to advancing cancer research, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. This annual award also serves to underscore the AACR’s ongoing commitment to the growth and support of pathologists worldwide who are engaged in basic, translational, and clinical cancer research. To learn more, please visit the press release.

View Past Recipients