Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, FAACR

Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, FAACR

City of Hope National Medical Center

Research Interests

Innate immunity and cancer; natural killer (NK) cell development, biology, and its clinical application to cancer; molecular biology of leukemia; vaccine development to prevent EBV lymphoma; role of interleukin (IL)-15 in human NK cell development, survival and activation and its role in the genesis of NK cell leukemia and cutaneous T cell lymphoma.

Current Affiliations

President and Deana and Steve Campbell Physician-in-Chief Distinguished Chair, City of Hope National Medical Center, Duarte, California.

Previous Positions

Chief Executive Officer (2007-2018) and Deputy Director (2003-2007), The James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute; Director, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center (2003-2018); Vice President for Health Sciences, Cancer Programs (2003-2018); Chair in Cancer Research, John L. Marakas Nationwide Insurance Enterprise Foundation (1997-2018); Professor, Department of Cancer Biology and Genetics and Internal Medicine (1997-2018); Director (2000-2007) and Codirector (1997-2000), Division of Hematology and Oncology, Department of Internal Medicine, The Ohio State University School of Medicine and Public Health; Associate Director for Clinical Research, The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center (1997-2003), Attending Physician of Hematologic Malignancy Service (1997-2003) and Director of Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program (1997-2004), The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio; Professor (1997) and Associate Professor (with tenure) (1994-1997), Departments of Medicine and Microbiology/Immunology; Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine (1990-1994), Roswell Park Cancer Institute and State University of New York at Buffalo School of Medicine; Attending Physician, Hematologic Malignancy Service, Roswell Park Cancer Institute (1990-1997), Buffalo, New York; Instructor in Medicine, Department of Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Harvard Medical School (1989-1990), Boston, Massachusetts.

Postdoctoral Training

Fellow in Medical Oncology, Bone Marrow Transplantation, and Immunology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School (1986-1989); Clinical Fellow in Medicine, Harvard Medical School (1983-1989); Intern and Resident in Internal Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School (1983-1986), Boston, Massachusetts.

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Elected Fellow, AACR Academy (2018); Editorial Board Member, Blood Cancer Discovery (2019-present); Member, Hematologic Malignancies Task Force (2019-present); Past President (2018-2019), President (2017-2018), and President-Elect (2016-2017), AACR; Chair, AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research Committee (2018-2019); Member, Board of Directors (2013-2016); Chair, Search Committee for Editor-in-Chief, Molecular Cancer Therapeutics (2013); Member, Science Policy and Legislative Affairs Committee (2012-2015, 2006-2009, 2001-2004); Member, Landon Foundation-AACR INNOVATOR Award for Cancer Prevention Research Scientific Review Committee (2011); Member, Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research Selection Committee (2010); Chair, Annual Meeting Program Committee (2009); Member, Scientific Program and Scientific Review Committees, Translational Cancer Medicine Meeting (2008); Member, Steering Committee, Cancer Immunology Working Group (2007-2012); Member, Clinical Research and Experimental Therapeutics Awards Selection Committee (2004); Chair, Publications Committee (2003-2017).

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Tullman Lecturer in Hematology, Yale Cancer Center (2019); Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine (2018); Recipient, J. E. Wallace Sterling Lifetime Achievement Award in Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine (2018); Recipient, Simon M. Shubitz Lecturer and Award, University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center (2018); Recipient, The Ohio State University Human Cancer Genetics Award (2018); Recipient, National Cancer Institute Outstanding Investigator Award (2016); President, Society of Natural Immunity (2015-2017); Chair, National Cancer Policy Forum, Institute of Medicine (2014-2016); Recipient, National Cancer Institute Director’s Service Award (2012); Councilor and Executive Committee Member, American Society of Hematology (2011-2015); Recipient, MERIT Award, National Cancer Institute (2010); President, Association of American Cancer Institutes (2009-2011); Member, Board of Scientific Advisors, National Cancer Institute (2008-2012); Elected Fellow, Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (2008); Elected Member, Association of American Physicians (2004); Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2003); Elected Member, American Society for Clinical Investigation (1998); Elected Fellow, American College of Physicians (1998).


MD, Stanford University School of Medicine (1983); MS, Physiology, Stanford University, Stanford, CA (1982); BA, Humanities and Health Science (in absentia), State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York (1979).