Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD

Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD

Yale Cancer Center

Goals for the AACR

I am privileged to have worked with the AACR’s leadership over the past two decades to help evolve cancer research, clinical trial design, personalized medicine, and health policy, including having served as chair of the Tobacco Products and Cancer Subcommittee for more than a decade. My goals for the AACR mirror those that I continually aspire to achieve as a thoracic oncologist and Chief of Medical Oncology at Yale School of Medicine. My mission is to support and encourage novel cancer research endeavors; advance the education and careers of trainees and junior faculty; foster and nurture a collaborative environment; and enrich the patient experience not only through availability of ground-breaking therapies, but also through enhanced communication, compassion, and advocacy, especially for our underserved communities.

Research Interests

Immunotherapy angiogenesis; dual epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR)/vascular endothelial growth factor receptor (VEGFR) inhibition in NSCLC and targeting KRAS-activated pathways; predictive biomarkers for the use of immunotherapy agents; Phase I, II, and III clinical trials.

Current Affiliations

Ensign Professor of Medicine (Medical Oncology); Professor of Pharmacology; Chief of Medical Oncology; Associate Cancer Center Director for Translational Research; Director, Thoracic Oncology Research Program; and Interim Director, Yale Center for Immuno-oncology, Yale Cancer Center, New Haven, Connecticut.

Previous Positions

Leader of the Clinical Research Program in Thoracic Oncology (2011-2019) and Coprogram Director, Developmental Therapeutics (2011-2015), Yale Cancer Center, New Haven, CT; Barnhart Family Distinguished Professor of Targeted Therapy (2011); Director, Fellowship Program (2007-2011) and Professor of Medicine, Department of Thoracic Head and Neck Medical Oncology, Division of Cancer Medicine (2005-2011); Professor (2005-2009) and Assistant Professor (1998-2002), Department of Cancer Biology; Cochair, Phase I Working Group (2003-2011); Associate Professor, Departments of Thoracic Head and Neck Medical Oncology and Cancer Biology (2002-2005); Chief, Section of Thoracic Medical Oncology, Department of Thoracic Head and Neck Medical Oncology (2001-2011); and Assistant Professor of Medicine, Departments of Thoracic Head and Neck Medical Oncology and Cancer Biology (1997-2002), UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas; Instructor in Medicine and Attending Physician, Harvard Medical School (1996-1997), Boston, Massachusetts.

Postdoctoral Training

Medical Hematology Fellowship, Brigham and Women’s Hospital (1996-1997), Boston, Massachusetts; Clinical Investigator Training Program, MIT-Harvard (Health Sciences and Technology Program) (1995-1997), Cambridge, Massachusetts; Chief Medical Residency, West Roxbury VA Hospital (1994), Dedham, Massachusetts; Medical Oncology Fellowship, Dana Farber Cancer Institute (1994-1996); Clinical Fellow, Harvard Medical School (1991-1996), Boston, Massachusetts.

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Member, Conflict of Interest Working Group (2019-present); Member, June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism Committee (2019-present); Member, AACR Cancer Progress Report Committee (2018-2019); Chair (2016-2017), Vice Chair (2012-2015), and Member (2018-present), Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee; Faculty (2016-2019, 2007-2008, 2000, 1998) and Program Committee Member (2007-2009), ASCO/AACR Workshop on Methods in Clinical Cancer Research; Member, Waun Ki Hong Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research Committee (2016-2017); Member, Cancer Patient Tobacco Use Assessment Task Force (2013-present); Cochair, AACR-IASLC Joint Conference on Molecular Origins of Lung Cancer: “Biology, Therapy, and Personalized Medicine” (2012); Member, Clinical and Translational Cancer Research Award Committee (2012-2014); Member, Clinical Research and Experimental Therapeutics Awards Committee (2011-2013, 2008-2009); Chair, Tobacco Products and Cancer Subcommittee (2009-present); Senior Editor, Clinical Cancer Research (2009-2015); Member, Phase I, II, and III Adult Clinical Trials Section of the Clinical Research Program Subcommittee (2009, 2008, 2003); Member, Special Conferences Committee (2008-2011); Cochair, Annual Meeting Program Committee (2008-2009).

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Recipient, GO2 Foundation for Lung Cancer’s Asclepios Award (2019); Recipient, Association for Clinical and Translational Science (ACTS) Translational Team Science Award (2018); Recipient, IASLC Science/Paul A. Bunn, Jr. MD Award (2016); Elected Member, Association of American Physicians (2015); Recipient, Herbert Pardes Clinical Research Excellence Award, Clinical Research Forum (2015); Recipient, Waun Ki Hong Visiting Professorship Award, MD Anderson Cancer Center Division of Cancer Medicine (2015); Recipient, Seventh Annual Addario Lectureship Award (2014); Sikand Orator, Yale University (2011); Fellow, American College of Physicians (2010); Recipient, David Ben-Gurion Leadership Award (2007); America’s Top Doctors, Castle Connolly Medical Ltd. (2006-2013).


MS, Clinical Translational Research, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts (1997); MD, Cornell University Medical College, New York, New York (1991); PhD, Molecular Cell Biology, The Rockefeller University, New York, New York, (1990); MS and BS, Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut (1984).