Scott A. Armstrong, MD, PhD

Scott A. Armstrong, MD, PhD

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Goals for the AACR

The AACR plays a critical role in the advancement of cancer research and the development of new treatments. I am the Chair of Pediatric Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and my research is focused on chromatin biology and drug discovery. I have worked extensively with the AACR in many capacities, including as the 2015-2016 Annual Meeting Program Chair. If elected, I will work with the Board of Directors to expand efforts focused on basic cancer science and drug discovery/development. I am also a staunch supporter of pediatric cancer research. I look forward to working with AACR members to continue our incredible progress toward defeating all cancers.

Research Interests

Cancer and stem cell biology; epigenetics; leukemia; drug development; hematopoiesis; chromatin-based mechanisms; pediatric cancer.

Current Affiliations

David G. Nathan Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School; Chair, Department of Pediatric Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Associate Chief, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Boston Children’s Hospital; Program Director, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program, Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center, Boston, Massachusetts; Associate Member, Cancer Program, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Previous Positions

Professor, Cell and Developmental Biology Program, Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences, and Professor in Pediatrics, Weill Cornell Medical College (2014-2016); Director, Center for Epigenetics Research (2014-2016) and Leukemia Center (2012-2016); Member, Cancer Biology and Genetics Program (2014-2016) and Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program (2012-2014); and Attending Physician, Pediatrics (2012-2016), Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, New York; Codirector, Cancer Program, Harvard Stem Cell Institute (2009-2012); Codirector, Leukemia Program, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center (2009-2012); Associate Professor (2009-2012) and Assistant Professor (2003-2009), Pediatrics, Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Center, Harvard Medical School; Attending Physician, Hematology/Oncology, Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center (2001-2012); Chief Fellow, Hematology/Oncology Fellowship Program, Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Hospital (2000-2001), Boston, Massachusetts.

Postdoctoral Training

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Cancer Immunology and AIDS, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (1999-2003); Clinical Fellow, Hematology and Oncology, Dana-Farber/Boston Children’s Cancer and Blood Disorders Center (1998-2001); Intern and Resident, Pediatrics, Boston Combined Residency Program in Pediatrics, Boston Children’s Hospital (1996-1998), Boston, Massachusetts.

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Session Cochair, Annual Meeting (2018); Member, Special Conferences Committee (2016-2019, 2013-2016); Member, AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research Committee (2016-2018); Member, AACR Clinical and Translational Cancer Research Award Committee (2016-2018); Cochair, Special Conference, “New Horizons in Cancer Research: Delivering Cures Through Cancer Science,” Shanghai (2016); Member, AACR Cancer Progress Report Steering Committee (2016); Member, Pediatric Cancer Working Group Steering Committee (2015-2018); Chair (2015-2016), Cochair (2013-2014, 2009), and Member (2012), Annual Meeting Program Committee; Scientific Editor, Cancer Discovery (2014-present); Chair, Hematologic Malignancies Meeting (2014); Member, AACR-Aflac Inc. Career Development Award for Pediatric Cancer Research Committee (2013-2015).

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Recipient, Tobias Award Lecture, International Society for Stem Cell Research (2019); Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine (2017); Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, Mark Foundation (2017-present); Member, Special Review Committee, Stand Up To Cancer-St. Baldrick’s Foundation (2017-present); Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (2015); Elected Member, Association of American Physicians (2014); Recipient, Frank A. Oski Award, American Society of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology (2014); Recipient, William Dameshek Prize, American Society of Hematology (2014); Member, Medical Advisory Board, The Lauri Strauss Leukemia Foundation (2014-present); Member, Medical Advisory Board, Rally Foundation for Childhood Cancer Research (2014-2016); Recipient, E. Mead Johnson Award for Research in Pediatrics, American Pediatric Society/Society for Pediatric Research (2012); Recipient, Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (2011); Elected Member, American Society for Clinical Investigation (2010); Member, Scientific Advisory Board, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation (2010-2015); Recipient, McCulloch and Till Award, International Society of Experimental Hematology (2009).


MD, PhD, Cellular and Molecular Biology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas, Texas (1996); BS, Chemistry, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma (1989).