Silvia Chiara Formenti, MD

Silvia Chiara Formenti, MD

Weill Cornell Medical College

Goals for the AACR

Radiation is a well-established cytocidal treatment that warrants more study, particularly in this era of rapid discovery in cancer genetics and biology. My main aspiration is to increase the presence and relevance of radiation biology in the portfolio of the AACR, particularly by fostering the study of ionizing radiation as a modality that can evoke an inflammatory and immunological response to cancer. I believe that the Board of Directors will find in me a passionate ambassador for cancer immunology and radiation medicine, and that AACR will have the opportunity over the next three years (and hopefully beyond) to foster the integration of radiation biology with the other branches of cancer research.

Research Interests

Breast cancer; radiation biology and radiotherapy; metastatic cancer; immunotherapy; combined chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

Current Affiliations

Professor and Chair of Radiation Oncology (with tenure), Department of Radiation Oncology; Sandra and Edward Meyer Professor of Cancer Research and Associate Director, Meyer Cancer Center, Weill Cornell Medical College; Radiation Oncologist-in-Chief and Attending Physician, New York Presbyterian Hospital, New York, New York.

Previous Positions

Professor and Chair of Radiation Oncology (with tenure), NYU School of Medicine (1999-2015); Associate Director for Clinical Research, NYU Cancer Institute/NYU Langone Health (2010-2015), New York, New York; Associate Professor (1995-1999) and Assistant Professor (1990-1995), Department of Radiation Oncology, University of Southern California, School of Medicine, Los Angeles, California.

Postdoctoral Training
ACS Audrey Meyers Mars Fellow, Clinical Oncology, AIDS, and Lymphoma (1984-1985); Fellow, Basic Science Research (1983-1984); Resident, Radiation Oncology (1987-1990); and Intern, General Medicine (1986-1987), University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA; Resident, Internal Medicine and Medical Oncology, San Carlo Borromeo Hospital (1980-1983); Intern, Università degli Studi di Milano (1979-1980), Milan, Italy.

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Scientific Editor, Cancer Discovery (2020-2022); Cochair, Annual Meeting Program Committee (2019-2020); Member, Finance and Audit Committee (2019-present); Session Chair, Annual Meeting, “Novel Rational Checkpoint Inhibitors” (2019); Panelist, AACR Industry Roundtable Session: “Using Tumor Biology to Inform and Improve Combination Therapy Strategies” (2019); Participant, AACR Future of Cancer Research Innovation Summit, Combination Therapies: “New Ways to Combine Radiation with Immune Therapy” (2019); Member, Radiation Science Committee (2018-present); Participant, AACR Radiation Science and Medicine Think Tank, Illuminating Technological Advances and Challenges in Precision Radiotherapies: “Radiotherapy Combinations” (2018); Member, Annual Meeting Clinical Trials Committee (2017-2019); Chair, Annual Meeting Educational Session, “Combinations” (2016); Member, Radiation Science and Medicine Working Group (2015-2018); Member, Annual Meeting Education Committee (2015-2016); Member, Women in Cancer Research (WICR) (2013-present); Member, AACR WICR Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship Committee (2006-2007).

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Cochair, Annual Meeting, Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (2019-2020); Recipient, American Society for Radiation Oncology Gold Medal Award (2019); Recipient, Accademia dei Lincei Wilhelm Roentgen Prize for Oncology (2019); Recipient, Stand Up To Cancer Laura Ziskin Prize in Translational Cancer Research (2019); Chair, NCI Clinical Trials and Translational Research Advisory Committee Ad Hoc Working Group on Radiation Oncology (2018-present); Recipient, The Radiological Society of North America Award of Honor Annual Oration in Radiation Oncology (2018); Recipient, European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology Honorary Membership Award (2017); Awardee, Grande Ufficiale Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana (Grand Officer) (2015); Member, Board of Directors, Lake Champlain Cancer Research Organization (2014-2017); President, Society of Chairs of Academic Radiation Oncology Programs (2014-2015); Fellow, American Society for Radiation Oncology (2013); Member, Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (2011-present); Member, Susan G. Komen for the Cure® Scientific National Advisory Council (2010-present); Member, International Society for Biological Therapy of Cancer (2010-present).