In This Section

AACR Elections

Your Vote Matters!

Voting Deadline: Monday, March 16, 2020
Carlos L. Arteaga
Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, FAACR
AACR Nominating Committee Chair

Each year, AACR eligible voting members elect candidates as follows: a President-Elect to serve a one-year term; five new members of the Board of Directors to serve three-year terms; and four new members of the Nominating Committee to serve two-year terms.

The AACR Nominating Committee is charged with selecting the candidates for those offices. The elected members of the committee share a broad and deep knowledge of the AACR. They call upon that knowledge to nominate candidates who are leaders and visionaries in the cancer science field and who will help the AACR to fulfill its mission:

“To fundamentally change the face of cancer by being the most effective catalyst for the prevention and cures of all cancers through: Research, Education, Communication, Collaboration, Science Policy and Advocacy, and Funding for Cancer Research.”

The nominating process is challenging, given the number of accomplished individuals within the AACR’s membership. In addition, the AACR is committed to maintaining demographic (gender, race/ethnicity, geographic, and institutional) and scientific diversity in these offices, all of which the Committee considers when building the final slates.

With its brain trust that is unmatched in the field, the AACR takes pride in its unique niche as the home for all aspects of cancer research—from basic research through clinical trials and patient care. We seek to elect leaders who will continue our rich tradition of innovation and leadership in cancer science. To that end, the Nominating Committee has put forth a slate that reflects all areas of cancer research and that has the potential to make the AACR an even greater force in preventing and eradicating this disease.

The election is now open and will remain open until 11:59 p.m. EDT on March 16, 2020. Election results will be announced in late March prior to AACR Annual Meeting 2020.

I urge you to exercise your right and privilege to vote for the future leadership of the AACR. While it may seem trite to say, every vote does indeed count!

View the Candidates Profiles

The sequence of candidates for president-elect was chosen by lottery:

Lillian L. Siu, MD, FRCPC

Lillian L. Siu, MD, FRCPC

Princess Margaret Cancer Center

David A. Tuveson, MD, PhD

David A. Tuveson, MD, PhD

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Cancer Center

View the candidates for Board of Directors.

View the candidates for Nominating Committee.

Vote Now