

Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

AACR Distinguished Lectureship on the Science of Cancer Health Disparities

AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

AWARD SUMMARY

• The AACR established this lectureship to recognize an investigator whose novel and significant work has had or may have a far-reaching impact on the etiology, detection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of cancer health disparities.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The lectureship may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the lectureship.

NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to https://myaacr.aacr.org. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
 - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding recent accomplishments associated with the etiology, detection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of cancer health disparities. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.
 - A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.

AWARD SELECTION

• Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

Award Committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.

• Selection of the award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious or political views.

INQUIRIES

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this Award or any other AACR scientific achievement award or lecture to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at <u>michael.powell@aacr.org</u> or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2022 Loïc Le Marchand
2021 Graham A. Colditz
2020 Lourdes A. Báezconde-Garbanati
2019 Steven R. Patierno
2018 Chanita Hughes-Halbert
2017 Julie R. Palmer
2016 Amelie G. Ramirez
2015 Electra D. Paskett
2014 John D. Carpten
2013 Beti Thompson
2012 Claudia R. Baquet
2011 Olufunmilayo Falusi Olopade
2010 Charles M. Perou