

615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

# AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry in Cancer Research

# **AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES**

## AWARD SUMMARY

- The AACR and the AACR Chemistry in Cancer Research Working Group established this award in 2007, through the support of GlaxoSmithKline, to recognize the importance of chemistry to advancements in cancer research.
- The award is intended to recognize outstanding, novel, and significant chemistry research, which has led to important contributions in basic cancer research; translational cancer research; cancer diagnosis; the prevention of cancer; or the treatment of patients with cancer. Such research may include, but is not limited to, chemical aspects of carcinogenesis; chemical biology; drug discovery and design; imaging agents and radiotherapeutics; metabolomics and mass spectrometry; proteomics; and structural biology.

# **ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA**

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The award may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the award.

## NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to <a href="https://myaacr.aacr.org">https://myaacr.aacr.org</a>. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
  - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding recent accomplishments in chemistry in cancer research. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

O A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.

## AWARD SELECTION

- Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an
  international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After
  committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be
  relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.
- Selection of the award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific
  accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious
  or political views.

## **INQUIRIES**

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at <a href="michael.powell@aacr.org">michael.powell@aacr.org</a> or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

#### PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2023 Carolyn R. Bertozzi
2022 Kevan Shokat
2021 Cynthia Wolberger
2020 Benjamin F. Cravatt
2019 Michael E. Jung
2018 John A. Katzenellenbogen
2017 Craig M. Crews
2016 James Bradner
2015 Philip S. Low

2014 Dale L. Boger
2013 Alexander Levitzki
2012 Stephen W. Fesik
2011 Gregory L. Verdine
2010 Stuart L. Schreiber
2009 F. Peter Guengerich
2008 Steven R. Tannenbaum
2007 Samuel J. Danishefsky