

Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

# AACR-G.H.A. Clowes Award for Outstanding Basic Cancer Research

# AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

## AWARD SUMMARY

- The AACR and Eli Lilly and Company established this award in 1961 to honor Dr. G.H.A. Clowes, who was a founding member of the AACR and a research director at Eli Lilly and Company.
- This award is intended to recognize an individual who has made outstanding recent accomplishments in basic cancer research.

## **ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA**

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The award may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the award.

#### NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to <a href="https://myaacr.aacr.org">https://myaacr.aacr.org</a>. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
  - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding recent accomplishments in basic cancer research. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.
  - A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.

#### AWARD SELECTION

• Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.

• Selection of the award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious or political views.

#### **INQUIRIES**

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at michael.powell@aacr.org or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

#### PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2023 M. Celeste Simon 2022 Ronald M. Evans 2021 Carol L. Prives 2020 Michael Karin 2019 Elaine Fuchs 2018 Scott W. Lowe 2017 Riccardo Dalla-Favera 2016 Vishva M. Dixit 2015 Owen N. Witte 2014 James P. Allison 2013 Michael R. Stratton 2012 Alan D. D'Andrea 2011 Yosef Shiloh 2010 Titia de Lange 2009 Joan Massagué 2008 John E. Dick 2007 Michael B. Kastan 2006 Carlo M. Croce 2005 David M. Livingston 2004 Frederick W. Alt 2003 Ronald A. DePinho 2002 Frank McCormick 2001 Stephen J. Elledge 2000 Elizabeth H. Blackburn 1999 Mina J. Bissell 1998 Arnold J. Levine 1997 Stanley J. Korsmeyer 1996 Robert A. Weinberg 1995 Bert Vogelstein

1994 Mary-Claire King 1993 Stuart H. Yuspa 1992 June L. Biedler 1991 Michael H. Wigler 1990 Erkki Ruoslahti 1989 Janet D. Rowley 1988 Isaiah J. Fidler 1987 I. Bernard Weinstein 1986 Hidesaburo Hanafusa 1985 Judah Folkman 1984 Emmanuel Farber 1983 Peter N. Magee 1982 George Weber 1981 Allan H. Conney 1980 Lloyd J. Old 1979 Roswell K. Boutwell 1978 Torbjorn Caspersson 1977 Ludwik Gross 1976 Henry S. Kaplan 1975 Elwood V. Jensen 1974 Howard M. Temin 1973 Wallace P. Rowe 1972 Sidney Weinhouse 1971 Howard E. Skipper **1970** Charles Heidelberger 1969 James A. Miller 1968 George H. Hitchings 1967 George Klein 1966 Joseph W. Beard



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

**1965** Lloyd W. Law **1964** Van R. Potter **1963** Peyton Rous **1962** Jacob Furth **1961** Renato Dulbecco