

615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

AACR James S. Ewing-Thelma B. Dunn Award for Outstanding Achievement in Pathology in Cancer Research

AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

AWARD SUMMARY

- The AACR established this award in 2021 in honor of James S. Ewing, MD and Thelma B. Dunn, MD. Dr. Ewing, often referred to as the "Chief of Cancer Pathology," is best known for his discovery of Ewing sarcoma. Notably, Dr. Ewing was also one of the AACR's 11 founding members in 1907 and served as the first AACR President from 1907-1909. Over fifty years later, in 1961, Dr. Dunn was elected as the first female AACR President. Dr. Dunn is renowned for her innovative efforts to promote the use of animal models in cancer research and for her development of transplantable mouse mast-cell tumor lines, which have been widely used to advance cancer research. Today, pathologists continue to build upon the legacy of these two quintessential pioneers through their cancer research contributions directed toward advancing our knowledge of cancer through basic, translational, and clinical pathology research.
- This award is intended to recognize and celebrate pathologists who have significantly
 contributed to advancing cancer research, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. This annual
 award also serves to underscore the AACR's ongoing commitment to the growth and
 support of pathologists worldwide who are engaged in basic, translational, and clinical
 cancer research.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

- The award will be presented to an individual pathologist affiliated with any institution in the United States or abroad conducting basic, translational, or clinical cancer research.
- Eligible individuals must have been formally trained as pathologists. Current board certification is not required for nomination.
- The award will be presented to a pathologist who has applied his/her expertise in pathology to make a significant scientific contribution(s) to basic, translational, or clinical cancer research.
- Institutions and/or organizations are ineligible to receive the award.

NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by an individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with an institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related sciences.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations, and all nominations must be submitted using AACR's electronic award nomination platform. Paper nominations will not be accepted.



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

- Eligible nominations must include the following:
 - O A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding and innovative research that has made significant contributions to cancer research. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within this provided letter. Nominators are highly encouraged to submit candidate's updated CV with nomination letter.
 - O A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) that justify the candidate's nomination for the award.

AWARD SELECTION

- Eligible nominees will be considered by an award selection committee composed of an
 international group of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After
 award selection committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient
 recommendations will be communicated to the AACR Executive Committee for formal
 ratification.
- Selection of the award recipient shall be made based on the candidate's scientific
 accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or
 religious or political views.

INQUIRIES

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at michael.powell@aacr.org or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS 2023: Arul M. Chinnaiyan 2022: Elaine S. Jaffe