

615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research

AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

AWARD SUMMARY

• The AACR and Bristol-Myers Squibb established this award in 1996 to recognize outstanding achievements in clinical cancer research. The award honors Dr. Joseph H. Burchenal, Honorary Member and Past President of the AACR, and a major figure in clinical cancer research.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The Award may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the Award.

NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to https://myaacr.aacr.org. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
 - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding recent accomplishments in clinical cancer research. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.
 - O A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.

AWARD SELECTION

• Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

Award Committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.

Selection of the Award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific
accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious
or political views.

INQUIRIES

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award or lecture to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at michael.powell@aacr.org or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2023 Melissa M. Hudson
2022 Patricia M. LoRusso
2021 Brigitte C. Widemann
2020 Jedd D. Wolchok
2019 Susan L. Cohn
2018 Johann S. de Bono
2017 Judy E. Garber
2016 John C. Byrd
2015 Elizabeth Jaffee
2014 John F. DiPersio
2013 Hagop M. Kantarjian
2012 Lawrence E. Einhorn
2011 Ching-Hon Pui
2010 Henry T. Lynch

2009 W. Marston Linehan 2008 Joseph R. Bertino 2007 Kenneth C. Anderson 2006 Merrill J. Egorin 2005 Jimmie C. Holland 2004 Clara D. Bloomfield 2003 David S. Alberts 2002 Lee M. Nadler 2001 Rainer F. Storb 2000 Waun Ki Hong 1999 John Mendelsohn 1998 Bernard Fisher 1997 Ronald Levy 1996 Samuel A. Wells, Jr.