

615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

# AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research

## AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

#### AWARD SUMMARY

- The AACR established this award in 2007 in honor of Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc) for her exemplary leadership of the AACR as the Chief Executive Officer, and for her sustained, extraordinary dedication to the conquest of cancer through fostering research, scholarly publications, communication, science education and training, and public education.
- This award recognizes true champions of cancer research, who embody the sustained commitment of Dr. Margaret Foti to the prevention and cure of cancer. The award will be given to an individual whose leadership and extraordinary achievements in cancer research have made a major impact in the field. Such achievements may include contributions to the acceleration of progress in cancer research; raising national or international awareness of cancer research; or in other ways demonstrating a sustained commitment to cancer research.

## **ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA**

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The award may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the award.

## **NOMINATION PROCESS**

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to <a href="https://myaacr.aacr.org">https://myaacr.aacr.org</a>. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
  - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's outstanding leadership and extraordinary achievements in cancer research. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.



615 Chestnut Street | 17th Floor Philadelphia, PA 19106-4404 215-440-9300 | 215-440-9313 Fax www.AACR.org | @AACR | facebook.com/AACR.org

> Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

O A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.

#### AWARD SELECTION

- Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an
  international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After
  committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be
  relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.
- Selection of the award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious or political views.

### **INQUIRIES**

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at <a href="michael.powell@aacr.org">michael.powell@aacr.org</a> or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

#### PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

2023 Elizabeth M. Jaffee

2022 Levi A. Garraway

**2021** Douglas R. Lowy

2020 Michelle M. Le Beau

2019 Raymond N. DuBois

2018 Isaiah J. Fidler

2017 Carlo M. Croce

2016 Waun Ki Hong

**2015** Donald S. Coffey

2014 Webster K. Cavenee

2013 Robert C. Young

2012 John Mendelsohn

2011 Arthur D. Levinson

2010 Phillip A. Sharp

2009 Anna D. Barker

2008 Ellen V. Sigal

2007 Margaret Foti