

Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

# AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Lectureship

# AWARD PROGRAM GUIDELINES

# AWARD SUMMARY

- The AACR established this lectureship in 1993 in honor of renowned virologist and discoverer of the Friend virus, Dr. Charlotte Friend, for her pioneering research on viruses, cell differentiation, and cancer.
- The lectureship is intended to give recognition to an outstanding female or male scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of women in science.

# **ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA**

- Cancer researchers affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science anywhere in the world may be nominated. Such institutions include those in academia, industry, or government.
- The lectureship may only be presented to an individual investigator.
- Institutions and/or organizations are not eligible to receive the lectureship.

# NOMINATION PROCESS

- Nominations may be submitted by any individual, whether an AACR member or nonmember, who is currently or has previously been affiliated with any institution involved in cancer research, cancer medicine, or cancer-related biomedical science.
- Self-nominations are prohibited.
- Nominators must maintain strict confidentiality of their nominations and all nominations must be submitted electronically to <a href="https://myaacr.aacr.org">https://myaacr.aacr.org</a>. Paper nominations will not be accepted.
- Eligible nominations must include the following:
  - A nomination letter written in English (Max: 1,000 words), which comprehensively describes the candidate's contributions to cancer research and describes how the candidate has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of women in science. Letter must specifically outline the candidate's current research activity and indicate how their research holds promise for continued substantive contributions to the cancer field. All publications that directly support the mentioned research accomplishments must be referenced within the provided letter.
  - A brief scientific citation (Max: 50 words) highlighting the major scientific contribution(s) justifying the award candidate's nomination.



#### Scientific Achievement Awards and Lectureships

### AWARD SELECTION

- Eligible nominees will be considered by an Award Selection Committee composed of an international cohort of cancer research experts appointed by the AACR President. After committee deliberations, primary and alternate award recipient recommendations will be relayed to the AACR Executive Committee for formal ratification.
- Selection of the award recipient shall be made on the basis of the candidate's scientific accomplishments without regard to race, gender, nationality, geographic location, or religious or political views.

# **INQUIRIES**

• Please direct all inquiries pertaining to this award or any other AACR scientific achievement award to Michael J. Powell, PhD, Director of Scientific Programs and Strategic Initiatives, at michael.powell@aacr.org or by phone at (215) 440-9373.

#### **PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS**

2023 Cory Abate-Shen 2022 Martine F. Roussel 2021 Marsha A. Moses 2020 Patricia S. Steeg 2019 Jennifer R. Grandis 2018 Dafna Bar-Sagi 2017 Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale 2016 Angelika Amon 2015 Sara A. Courtneidge 2014 Charis Eng 2013 Guillermina Lozano **2012** Lisa M. Coussens 2011 Carol L. Prives 2010 Elaine V. Fuchs 2009 Jessica K. Tyler 2008 Nancy E. Davidson

2007 Janet S. Butel
2006 Nancy Hopkins
2005 Joan S. Brugge
2004 Titia de Lange
2003 Janet D. Rowley
2002 Ellen S. Vitetta
2001 Zena Werb
2000 Leona D. Samson
1999 Lorraine L. Gudas
1998 Frances Visco
1997 Mary-Claire King
1996 Cora B. Marrett
1995 Gertrude B. Elion
1994 Mary Ellen Jones
1993 Florence Haseltine