Kenneth C. Anderson, MD

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD | Class of 2015

Celebrated for his contributions to translational and clinical advances in multiple myeloma, Dr. Anderson has transformed medical practice and markedly improved multiple myeloma patient outcomes worldwide. His research has focused on utilizing surrogate models of multiple myeloma to better understand biological mechanisms such as cell survival, death, and growth, immune response, drug resistance, and tumor heterogeneity; how such mechanisms influence cancer onset and progression; and how these processes may be molecularly manipulated by targeted therapeutics.

Dr. Anderson’s research has emphasized the role of the tumor microenvironment in carcinogenesis and has led to the preclinical and clinical development, leading to FDA approval, of the proteasome inhibitor bortezomib and the immunomodulatory drug lenalidomide. These agents in combination as front-line treatments have prolonged the median survival time of patients with multiple myeloma from 3 to over 7 years.

Ongoing research endeavors in Dr. Anderson’s laboratory have been dedicated to identifying novel targets and validating targeted therapies, as well as developing combinatorial drug strategies for multiple myeloma. This research has featured several drugs recently FDA approved for use in subpopulations of multiple myeloma patients, including pomalidomide (immunomodulator) and panobinostat (HDAC inhibitor), as well as novel monoclonal antibodies (elotuzumab and daratumamab), currently in late stages of regulatory approval.

Career Highlights

2018  Elected Fellow, American Society of Clinical Oncology
​2014  David Workman Memorial Award, Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation
2013  Leonard P. Zakim Patient Advocacy Award
2012  Medal of Honor for Basic Research, American Cancer Society
2012-2015  Board of Directors, AACR
2011  Clinical Research Award, Hope Funds for Cancer Research
2011  David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2010  Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
2010  Elected Member, Royal College of Physicians and Pathologists, London
2009  Honorary Doctorate, University of Athens School of Medicine, Athens
2008  Dameshek Prize, American Society of Hematology
2007  AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research
2007-Present  Editor-in-Chief, Clinical Cancer Research
2005  Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award, International Myeloma Foundation
2003  Waldenström Award for Myeloma Research
1977  MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine