In This Section

Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee

2018-2019 COMMITTEE Members               

Printer-friendly version (Year in parenthesis indicates the year when the member’s term expires)

George D. Demetri, MD (2019)
Committee Chairperson
Ludwig Center at Harvard
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts

Lucile L. Adams-Campbell, PhD (2020)
Professor of Oncology; Associate Dean for Community Health and Outreach
Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Washington, D.C.
Kenneth C. Anderson, MD (2020)
Program Director and Chief, Division of Hematologic Neoplasia, Kraft Family Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts

Frederick R. Appelbaum, MD (2019)
Executive Director and President
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, Washington

Alan Ashworth, PhD (2020)
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, California
Steven D. Averbuch, MD (2019)
Vice President; Head of Precision Medicine
Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.
Princeton, New Jersey
Anna D. Barker, PhD (2020)
Chief Strategy Officer
The Lawrence J. Ellison Institute for Transformative Medicine of USC
Beverly Hills, California

Lisa H. Butterfield, PhD (2020)
Vice President
PICI Research Center, Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy
San Francisco, California

John D. Carpten, PhD (2020)
Chair, Department of Translational Genomics
USC Keck School of Medicine
Los Angeles, California

Kenneth H. Cowan, MD, PhD (2020)
Fred and Pamela Buffett Cancer Center
Omaha, Nebraska
John F. Dipersio, MD, PhD (2019)
Chief, Division of Oncology
Washington University School of Medicine McDonnell Genome Institute
Saint Louis, Missouri
H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (2020)
UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Peter D. Emanuel, MD (2020)
UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute
Little Rock, Arkansas
B. Mark Evers, MD (2020)
Professor, Department of Surgery
University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center
Lexington, Kentucky
Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH, FAACR (2019)
Director, Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts
Stanton L. Gerson, MD (2020)
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Cleveland, Ohio

Joe W. Gray, PhD, FAACR (2020)
Gordon Moore Endowed Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, Oregon
Lee M. Greenberger, PhD (2020)
Chief Scientific Officer
The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society
Rye Brook, New York
Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD (2019)
Ensign Professor of Medicine
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut
Chanita Hughes-Halbert, PhD (2020)
Professor and Endowed Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina Hollings Cancer Center
Charleston, South Carolina
Roy A. Jensen, MD (2020)
University of Kansas Cancer Center
Kansas City, Kansas
Thomas W. Kensler, PhD (2020)
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Steven K. Libutti, MD (2020)
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Patricia M. LoRusso, DO (2019)
Associate Director of Innovative Medicine; Professor of Medicine
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut
Christine M. Lovly, MD, PhD (2020)
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee
Sean J. Mulvihill, MD (2020)
Associate Vice President for Payer Strategy
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah
Augusto C. Ochoa, MD (2020)
Director of Immunotherapy
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, Louisiana
Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD (2020)
Professor of Internal Medicine, Genetics, and Public Health
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Edith A. Perez, MD (2020)
Supplemental Consultant, Hematology/Oncology and Cancer Biology
Mayo Clinic
Jacksonville, Florida
David R. Piwnica-Worms, MD, PhD (2020)
Chair, Department of Cancer Systems Imaging
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas
Brian M. Rivers, PhD (2020)
Director, Cancer Program; Associate Professor Department of Community Health and Preventative Medicine
Morehouse School of Medicine
Atlanta, Georgia
Eric H. Rubin, MD (2020)
Senior Vice President and Therapeutic Area Head Oncology Early Development
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Ellen V. Sigal, PhD (2019)
Chairperson and Founder
Friends of Cancer Research
Washington, D.C.
Robert W. Sobol, PhD (2019)
Point Clear Charities Professor of Oncologic Sciences
University of South Alabama
Mitchell Cancer Institute
Mobile, Alabama
Eduardo M. Sotomayor, MD (2020)
Director, GW Cancer Center
George Washington University
Washington, D.C.
Roger Stupp, MD (2020)
Associate Director of Strategic Initiatives
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer
Center of Northwestern University
Chicago, Illinois
Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD (2020)
Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute – Cedars-Sinai
Los Angeles, California
Laura J. van ’t Veer, PhD (2019)
Angela and Shu Kai Chan Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, California
Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD (2019)
Professor of Oncology; Co-Director of Cancer Biology
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland
Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, PhD (2020)
Abramson Cancer Center
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Geoffrey M. Wahl, PhD, FAACR (2019)
Daniel and Martina Lewis Chair; Professor, Gene Expression Laboratory
Salk Institute
La Jolla, California
George J. Weiner, MD (2019)
University of Iowa Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center
Iowa City, Iowa
Cheryl L. Willman, MD (2019)
Director and Chief Executive Officer
University of New Mexico Comprehensive Cancer Center
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Robert A. Winn, MD (2020)
Associate Vice Chancellor for Community-Based Practice;
University of Illinois Cancer Center
Chicago, Illinois

Douglas Yee, MD (2020)
University of Minnesota Masonic Cancer Center
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Robert C. Young, MD (2019)
RCY Medicine
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Elaine R. Mardis, PhD (2019)
ex officio; AACR President 2018-2019
Co-Executive Director, Institute for Genomic Medicine
Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Columbus, Ohio

Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, FAACR (2018)
ex officio; AACR President 2017-2018
President and Physician-in-Chief
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Duarte, California

Nancy E. Davidson, MD, FAACR (2018)
ex officio; AACR President 2016-2017
Senior Vice President and Director, Clinical Research Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, Washington

Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD, FAACR (2018)
ex officio; AACR President 2018-2019
Deputy Director
Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Baltimore, Maryland


Brandon Leonard, MA
Associate Director, Congressional Relations
Email or call 267-765-1030