Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO, FSSO

Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO, FSSO

Director, Interdisciplinary Breast Program; Chief, Division of Breast Surgery; Medical Director
International Center for the Study of Breast Cancer Subtypes
Staff Surgeon, Weill Cornell Medicine/New York Presbyterian Hospital Network
New York, New York
Adjunct Professor
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas
Adjunct Faculty, Department of Surgery
Henry Ford Health System
Detroit, Michigan

Goals for the AACR

As a longstanding member of the AACR, I am extremely proud of this organization’s commitment to addressing cancer disparities through education, research, and strengthening the diversity of the oncology workforce. These efforts have intensified over time to robustly involve clinical investigators, global health, and legislative advocacy.

As an African American surgical breast oncologist whose research focuses on disparities related to race/ethnicity, I have had the honor of developing several domestic and international cancer partnerships. My personal and career interests are well aligned with the AACR mission, and I hope to support all initiatives aimed at achieving equity in cancer care worldwide.

Research Interests

Breast cancer disparities related to racial/ethnic identity; global breast health; study of breast cancer subtypes; state-of-the-art screening and imaging technologies, innovative surgical and reconstruction techniques, and radiation therapies to provide patients with comprehensive breast cancer care

Previous Positions

Director, Breast Oncology Program, Henry Ford Health System (2015-2018), Detroit, Michigan; professor (2008-2016) and associate professor (2002-2008) of surgery; director, University of Michigan/Hamilton Community Health Network Flint Breast Clinic Outreach Program (2012-2015); program director, Breast Fellowship Training Program and director, Breast Cancer Center (2002-2015), University of Michigan; staff surgeon, University of Michigan Health Center (2002-2015), Ann Arbor, Michigan; associate professor of surgery and associate director, Alexander J. Walt Breast Center, Wayne State University and Karmanos Cancer Institute (2000-2002), Detroit, Michigan; assistant professor of surgery, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (1999-2000), Houston, Texas; assistant professor of surgery, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center (1990-1997), Brooklyn, New York

Postdoctoral Training

Fellow, surgical oncology, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (1997-1999); resident, general surgery, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center (1985-1990), Brooklyn, New York

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Recipient, AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship (2020); chair (2020-2021) and member (2019-2020), AACR Cancer Disparities Progress Report Steering Committee; member, Minorities in Cancer Research (MICR) Council (2020-present); member, Finance and Audit Committee (2019-2022); chair, Cancer in Africa Subcommittee, International Affairs Committee (2019-present); member, AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research Committee (2018-2020); member, NextGen Grants for Transformative Cancer Research Committee (2018-2020); member, AACR Cancer Progress Report Committee (2018-2019); cochair, Annual Meeting Program Committee (2017-2019); member, Special Conferences Committee (2016-2019); member (2016-2018) and chair (2014-2015), AACR Distinguished Lectureship on the Science of Cancer Health Disparities Award Committee, Funded by Susan G. Komen®; chair, AACR Breast Cancer Research Grants Scientific Review Committee (2015-2016); member, Minorities in Cancer Research (MICR) Advisory Council (2013-2015); member, BCRF-AACR Grants for Translational Cancer Research Committee (2013-2015)

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Recipient, SHARE Cancer Support Advocacy Leadership Award (2020); member, Scientific Advisory Board, African Organization for Research and Training in Africa (AORTIC) (2020-present); invited speaker, Annual Lape Visiting Professorship, Penn State University (2020); member, American College of Surgeons Anti-Racism Task Force (2020-present); keynote speaker, Vanderbilt-Meharry Annual Cancer Symposium (2019); recipient, European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO) “Rock Stars of Medicine and Science” Award (2018); recipient, Top Blacks in Health Care (2018); member, Scientific Advisory Board, Susan G. Komen® (2017-present); recipient, Crain’s “Health Care Hero” Award (2017); Awardee, Komen Scholar, Susan G. Komen® (2016-2019); member, Editorial Board, JAMA Surgery (2015-present); recipient, University of Michigan Sarah Goddard Power Award for Advancement of Women in Academic Medicine (2014); member, Advisory Council for National Institute of Minority Health and Disparities (NIMHD) (2013-present); recipient, “O” Magazine, Angel of Breast Cancer Award (2012)


MPH, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, Massachusetts (2001); MD, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York (1985); BA, chemistry, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts (1981)