In This Section
Leroy E. Hood, MD, PhD

Leroy E. Hood, MD, PhD

Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle, Washington

Class of 2013

The outstanding contributions of Dr. Hood have had a resounding effect on the advancement of science since the 1960 ‘s. He was involved in the development of five instruments critical for the scientific progress, namely, automated DNA sequencers, DNA synthesizers, protein sequencers, peptide synthesizers, and an ink jet printer for constructing DNA arrays. He also made many seminal discoveries in the fields of immunology and neurobiology and most recently has been a leader in the development of systems biology, its applications to cancer, and the linkage of systems biology to personalized medicine.

Throughout his career, Dr. Hood has adhered to the advice of his mentor, Dr. William J. Dreyer, “If you want to practice biology, do it on the leading edge and if you want to be on the leading edge, invent new tools for deciphering biological information. In addition to his ground breaking research, Dr. Hood has received 36 patents, 17 honorary degrees and over 100 awards and honors. He is one of just 15 individuals elected to all three National Academies: the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine.

Career Highlights

2011 National Medal of Science
2011 Fritz and Dolores Russ Prize, National Academy of Engineering
2007 Elected Member, National Academy of Engineering
2006 Heinz Award for Pioneering Work in Systems Biology
2005 AACR-Irving Weinstein Foundation Distinguished Lecturer Award
2003 Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
2003 Lemelson-MIT Prize for Innovation and Invention
2002 Kyoto Prize in Advanced Technology
2000 Elected Member, American Philosophical Society
1993 Scientist of the Year, Research and Development Magazine
1987 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award
1982 Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, DC
1982 Elected Fellow, National Academy of Arts and Sciences
1968 PhD, California Institute of Technology
1964 M., The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine