Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD
University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD | Class of 2013

A national leader in clinical cancer genetics, Dr. Olopade seeks to identify those at risk for breast and ovarian cancer earlier in life, intervene aggressively, reduce risk, and thereby more effectively control cancer. She studies familial cancers, molecular genetics of cancer, cancer risk assessment and chemoprevention, breast cancer in minority populations, and disparities in health outcomes. Her current laboratory research is focused on tumor suppressor genes such as BRCA1 and BRCA2, mutations of which predispose to breast and ovarian cancers, and ER-negative breast cancer, an aggressive form of the disease that is resistant to hormone therapy. She is working to develop new biomarkers and translate recent advances in molecular genetics research into a clinical benefit for patients.

Dr. Olopade specializes in treating breast cancer in moderate- or high-risk populations, especially young or pregnant women, those with hereditary cancer syndromes, and young women of African descent. She is an expert in individualized treatment for breast cancer, having developed novel management strategies based on an understanding of the altered genes in individual patients. She stresses risk assessment and prevention in high-risk populations, as well as earlier detection through advanced imaging technologies, computerized analysis of mammography, breast ultrasound, and magnetic resonance images.

Career Highlights

2017  Humanitarian Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2012  National Honor, Officer of the Order of the Niger
2011-present  National Cancer Advisory Board
2010  Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2008  Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
2006  AACR-MICR Jane Cooke Wright Memorial Lectureship Award
2005  MacArthur “Genius Grant” Fellowship
2005  Heroes in Healthcare Award, Access Community Network
2005  Elected Member, Association of American Physicians
2003  Elected Member, American Society for Clinical Investigation
2000  Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award
1995  Fellow, American College of Physicians
1992  James S. McDonnell Foundation Scholar Award
1990  Ellen Ruth Lebow Fellowship, Association for Brain Tumor Research
1980  Nigerian Medical Association Award for Excellence in Medicine
1980  M.B.B.S., University of Ibadan College of Medicine, Ibadan, Nigeria