In This Section

AACR Congratulates Winners of 2022 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award

PHILADELPHIA – The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) congratulates Fellow of the AACR Academy Richard O. Hynes, PhD; AACR member Erkki Ruoslahti, PhD; and Timothy A. Springer, PhD, on receiving the 2022 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for their pioneering research on integrins, which are mediators of cell-matrix and cell-cell adhesion in physiology and disease.

“We celebrate the spectacular achievements of these scientists, whose work is being applied to many aspects of cancer research for the benefit of cancer patients worldwide,” said Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), chief executive officer of the AACR.

Hynes is known for his research into uncovering the molecular basis for cell adhesion and for recognizing that changes in cell adhesion can alter cell function and contribute to human diseases, including cancer. He was elected a Fellow of the AACR Academy in 2014 and is Daniel K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

Ruoslahti is a Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute. In 1990, he received the AACR-G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Basic Cancer Research.

Springer is an immunologist and professor at Harvard Medical School.