In This Section
Brian J. Druker, MD

Brian J. Druker, MD

Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon

Class of 2013

A recognized leader in the field of anti-cancer drug development, Dr. Druker was instrumental in the development of Gleevec (imatinib), a breakthrough drug that served as the proof of principle for targeted cancer therapies. Dr. Druker developed 4G10, an anti-phosphotyrosine antibody essential to Novartis scientists, kinase inhibitor drug discovery program. His laboratory performed the critical pre-clinical studies of imatinib, a drug that precisely eliminates cancerous cells fueled by BCR-ABL kinase activity without harming normal cells. Thereafter, Dr. Druker spearheaded the highly successful clinical trials of imatinib for CML, which led to the FDA approval of the drug in record time.

Dr. Druker’s work demonstrated the possibility of transforming cancer into a manageable disease, a concept previously unimagined. Imatinib not only established a new treatment paradigm for cancer, but the hundreds of targeted therapies developed in its wake have significantly impacted the direction of cancer research.

Career Highlights

2019 Sjöberg Prize, The Sjöberg Foundation, Lysekil, Sweden
2018 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science, Tang Prize Foundation, Taipei, Taiwan
2017 Science of Oncology Award and Lecture, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2013 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research
2013 Taubman Prize for Excellence in Translational Medicine Science
2012 Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2012 The Japan Prize in Healthcare and Medical Technology
2011 Ernest Beutler Prize, American Society of Hematology
2011 Stanley J. Korsmeyer Award, American Society for Clinical Investigation
2009 Lasker-Debakey Award for Clinical Medical Research
2007 Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, DC
2007 Keio Medical Science Prize
2006 Elected Member, American Association of Physicians
2003 Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
2003 David A. Karnofsky Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2002 Charles F. Kettering Prize, General Motors Cancer Research Foundation
2002 Medal of Honor, American Cancer Society
2001 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, Harvard Medical School
2001 AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award
1981 MD, University of California School of Medicine, San Diego