In This Section
David M. Livingston, MD

David M. Livingston, MD

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Class of 2014

Dr. Livingston is an internationally renowned expert on the molecular pathogenesis of breast and ovarian cancer. His research has focused on genes that regulate cell growth, including the tumor suppressor genes, Rb, p300/CBP, BRCA1, and BRCA2. Through his work on BRCA1 and BRCA2, he has shed light on the role of BRCA mutations in the hereditary predisposition to cancer. Dr. Livingston’s recent work has focused on the key molecular changes in signal transduction that contribute to the development of breast and ovarian tumor cells. Specifically, his laboratory examines defects in tumor suppressor loci that regulate cell proliferation, genome integrity, and cell survival. He also investigates the biological functions of BACH1, RAP80, and other proteins, which encode nuclear proteins that interact with the BRCA proteins.

Dr. Livingston’s work has been the cornerstone of many studies of cancer susceptibility linked to BRCA function and mutations. By understanding the tumor suppressive properties of BRCA1 and BRCA2, Dr. Livingston’s work has paved the way for studying novel approaches to breast and ovarian cancer prevention. In addition to his own studies, Dr. Livingston has a long history of service in cancer research. He sits on multiple editorial boards and served as the chair of the Board of Scientific Advisors at the National Cancer Institute from 1995 to 1999.

Career Highlights

2017 Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research
2011 Alexander Bodini Foundation Prize of the American-Italian Cancer Research Fund
2012 Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation Medical Research Award in Cancer Research
2009 Anthony Dipple Carcinogenesis Award, European Association for Cancer Research
2005 AACR-G.H.A Clowes Memorial Award
2005 Theodor Boveri Award, German Cancer Society
2001 Lila Gruber Award for Cancer Research, American Academy of Dermatology
2001 Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1997 Brinker International Award for Breast Cancer Research, Susan B. Komen®
1997 Association of American Medical College’s Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences, Baxter Allegiance Foundation
1995 Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.
1991 Richard P. and Claire W. Morse Scientific Award, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
1990 Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
1965 MD, Tufts University School of Medicine