In This Section
Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MD

University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
Chicago, Illinois

Class of 2013

A national leader in clinical cancer genetics, Dr. Olopade seeks to identify those at risk for breast and ovarian cancer earlier in life, intervene aggressively, reduce risk, and thereby more effectively control cancer. She studies familial cancers, molecular genetics of cancer, cancer risk assessment and chemoprevention, breast cancer in minority populations, and disparities in health outcomes. Her current laboratory research is focused on tumor suppressor genes such as BRCA1 and BRCA2, mutations of which predispose to breast and ovarian cancers, and ER-negative breast cancer, an aggressive form of the disease that is resistant to hormone therapy. She is working to develop new biomarkers and translate recent advances in molecular genetics research into a clinical benefit for patients.

Dr. Olopade specializes in treating breast cancer in moderate- or high-risk populations, especially young or pregnant women, those with hereditary cancer syndromes, and young women of African descent. She is an expert in individualized treatment for breast cancer, having developed novel management strategies based on an understanding of the altered genes in individual patients. She stresses risk assessment and prevention in high-risk populations, as well as earlier detection through advanced imaging technologies, computerized analysis of mammography, breast ultrasound, and magnetic resonance images.

Career Highlights

2021 William L. McGuire Memorial Lecture Award
2020 Giants of Cancer Care, OncLive®
2017 Humanitarian Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2012 National Honor, Officer of the Order of the Niger
2011-present National Cancer Advisory Board
2010 Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2008 Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
2006 AACR-MICR Jane Cooke Wright Memorial Lectureship Award
2005 MacArthur “Genius Grant” Fellowship
2005 Heroes in Healthcare Award, Access Community Network
2005 Elected Member, Association of American Physicians
2003 Elected Member, American Society for Clinical Investigation
2000 Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award
1995 Fellow, American College of Physicians
1992 James S. McDonnell Foundation Scholar Award
1990 Ellen Ruth Lebow Fellowship, Association for Brain Tumor Research
1980 Nigerian Medical Association Award for Excellence in Medicine
1980 MBBS, University of Ibadan College of Medicine, Ibadan, Nigeria