In This Section

Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee

The AACR established the Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee in March of 2011 to support the FDA’s endeavor to modernize the regulatory process and accommodate the fast pace of innovation in science and technology. The subcommittee leads the AACR’s efforts to facilitate scientific exchange among stakeholders from academia, industry, advocacy, and government to unleash the true potential of regulatory science to serve patients. In order for the latest research to inform regulators, regulatory guidelines and regulatory policy, regulators must keep abreast with developments in cancer research. Scientists also benefit from an understanding of the regulatory process, which can facilitate their own research programs and speed the translation of discoveries into new and improved interventions.

The subcommittee is dedicated to bringing together and providing an open forum for stakeholder engagement. It is also actively engaged in the development and implementation of programmatic and policy initiatives to improve the development, evaluation and regulation of cancer drugs, biologics and diagnostics.

Subcommittee Members

Printer-friendly version

  • Kenneth C. Anderson, MD, FAACR
    Subcommittee Chairperson
    Program Director and Chief, Division of Hematologic Neoplasia, Kraft Family Professor of Medicine
    Harvard Medical School, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts
  • James L. Abbruzzese, MD, FACP
    Chief, Division of Medical Oncology, Department of Medicine, Associate Director for Clinical Research
    Duke Cancer Institute
    Durham, North Carolina
  • Chris Boshoff, MD, PhD
    Chief Development Officer
    Pfizer Oncology
    New York, New York
    William S. Dalton, PhD, MD
    Founder and Chief Executive Officer
    Tampa, Florida
  • Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD
    Dean, College of Medicine
    Medical University of South Carolina
    Charleston, South Carolina
  • Susan M. Galbraith, MBBCh, PhD
    Executive Vice-President, Oncology R&D
    Cambridge, England
  • Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH
    Director, Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts
  • Levi A. Garraway, MD, PhD
    Global Head of Product Development, Chief Medical Officer
    F. Hoffman-LaRoche Ltd.
    South San Francisco, California
  • Richard B. Gaynor, MD
    President, Research and Development
    Neon Therapeutics
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • William N. Hait, MD, PhD
    Global Head of External Innovation
    Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical R&D
    Raritan, New Jersey
  • Eric B. Haura, MD
    Senior Member
    Moffitt Cancer Center
    Tampa, Florida
  • Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD
    Ensign Professor of Medicine, Associate Director for Translational Research
    Yale Cancer Center
    New Haven, Connecticut
  • Pasi A. Jänne, MD, PhD
    Director, Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology
    Scientific Director, Belfer Institute for Applied Cancer Science
    Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts
  • Chitkala Kalidas, PhD
    Vice President, Head Oncology Regulatory Affairs
    New York, New York
  • Peter F. Lebowitz, MD, PhD
    Senior Vice President, Global Therapeutic Area Head, Oncology
    Janssen Research and Development, LLC
    Wayne, Pennsylvania
  • John E. Leonard, PhD
    Senior Vice President, Development
    Vaccinex Inc.
    Rochester, New York
  • Thomas J. Lynch, Jr., MD
    President and Director, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
    Seattle, Washington
  • Elaine R. Mardis, PhD
    Co-executive Director, Institute for Genomic Medicine
    Nationwide Children’s Hospital
    Columbus, Ohio
  • David M. Reese, MD
    Vice President, Medical Sciences
    Amgen Inc.
    Los Angeles, California
  • Eric H. Rubin, MD
    Vice President and Therapeutic Area Head, Oncology Early Dev.
    Merck Research Laboratories
  • Charles L. Sawyers, MD
    Chair, Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York
  • Howard I. Scher, MD
    Co-chair, Center for Mechanism Based Therapy
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Mehdi Shahidi, MD
    Corporate Vice President, Global Head of Medicine, Oncology
    Boehringer Ingelheim
    Sutton, England
  • Ellen V. Sigal, PhD
    Chairperson and Founder
    Friends of Cancer Research
    Washington, D.C.
  • Suzanne L. Topalian, MD
    Professor, Surgery and Oncology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    Director, Melanoma Program, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
    Johns Hopkins University
    Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Baltimore, Maryland
  • Laura J. van ‘t Veer, PhD
    Professor, Department of Laboratory Medicine
    UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
    San Francisco, California
  • Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD
    Co-director of Cancer Biology and Professor of Oncology
    Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Baltimore, Maryland
  • Verena Voelter, MD
    Head of U.S. Clinical Development and Medical Affairs
    Novartis Oncology
    East Hanover, New Jersey

AACR Staff Contact

Jon Retzlaff, MBA, MPA
Chief Policy Officer
Vice President, Science Policy and Government Affairs