In This Section

Tobacco Products and Cancer Subcommittee

The AACR Tobacco Products and Cancer Subcommittee was convened in 2009 to foster scientific and policy initiatives to reduce the incidence of disease and mortality due to tobacco use. The subcommittee, consisting of experts in lung cancer, nicotine addiction, and smoking cessation, provides their subject matter expertise to the AACR Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee.

2019-2020 Subcommittee Members

Printer-friendly version (Year in parenthesis indicates the year when the member’s term expires)

Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD (2020)
Subcommittee Chairperson
Ensign Professor of Medicine
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut

Christopher I. Amos, PhD
Director, Institute for Clinical and Translational Research
Associate Director, Quantitative Sciences
Daniel L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Barbara A. Burtness, MD
Professor of Medicine Oncology
Clinical Research Program Leader
Yale University School of Medicine
Yale Cancer Center Yale
New Haven, CT

Paul M. Cinciripini, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Behavioral Science
Director, Tobacco Treatment Program
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Maciej L. Goniewicz, PharmD, PhD
Associate Professor of Oncology
Department of Health Behavior
Division of Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences
Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center
Buffalo, New York

Dorothy K. Hatsukami, PhD
Associate Director, Cancer Prevention and Control
Forster Family Chair in Cancer Prevention
Masonic Cancer Center
Professor of Psychiatry
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Suchitra Krishnan-Sarin, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry
Chair, Human Investigations Committee II
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT

Scott J. Leischow, PhD
Professor and Director of Clinical and Translational Science
College of Health Solutions
Arizona State University
Phoenix, Arizona

Timothy R. Rebbeck, PhD
Vincent L. Gregory, Jr. Professor of Cancer Prevention, Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health and Division of Population Sciences, Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Nancy A. Rigotti, MD
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Population Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Director, Tobacco Research and Treatment Unit Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Peter G. Shields, MD
Deputy Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, College of Medicine
Julius F. Stone Chair in Cancer Research
James Cancer Hospital
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH

Avrum E. Spira, MD, MSc
Professor of Medicine, Pathology and Bioinformatics Global Head, Johnson & Johnson Lung Cancer Initiative
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston, MA

Benjamin A. Toll, PhD
Professor of Public Health Sciences and Psychiatry
Vice Chair for Research, Public Health Sciences
Chief of Tobacco Cessation and Health Behaviors
Co-Director, Lung Cancer Screening Program
Hollings Cancer Center
Director, MUSC Health Tobacco Treatment Program
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC

Kasisomayajula (Vish) Viswanath, PhD
Lee Kum Kee Professor of Health Communication
Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Director, Center for Translational Health Communication Science, DFCI/HSPH
Director, Harvard Chan India Research Center
Co-Director, Lee Kum Sheung Center for Health and Happiness
Boston, MA

Wendell Gray Yarbrough, MD, MMHC, FACS
Chair, Thomas J. Dark Distinguished Professor
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Otolaryngology, UNC Comprehensive Cancer Support Program
Chapel Hill, NC

Stephanie R. Land, PhD, ex officio (NCI liaison)
Program Director and Statistician
Tobacco Control Research Branch
Behavioral Research Program
Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, MD


Calais Prince, PhD
Associate Director, Science and Health Policy