Waun Ki Hong, MD

Waun Ki Hong, MD
Vice Provost, Clinical Research; Head, Division of Cancer Medicine, Samsung Distinguished University Chair in Cancer Medicine University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (UTMDACC), Houston, Texas

Waun Ki Hong, MD | Class of 2013

Dr. Hong’s pioneering research has resulted in three seminal contributions in cancer medicine. He conceptualized and led the landmark Veterans Administration Cooperative laryngeal preservation trial using induction chemotherapy and radiotherapy, which changed the way the disease is managed and served as a model for organ preservation in many other cancers. Dr. Hong also established proof of principle that chemoprevention works in patients with head and neck cancer, thereby helping define a new discipline in cancer prevention. Additionally, he was the main architect and principal investigator for BATTLE (Biomarker-integrated Approaches of Targeted Therapy for Lung Cancer Elimination), the first successful biopsy-driven trial in lung cancer. This formative work opened up a new paradigm of personalized cancer therapy in solid tumors.

Dr. Hong was influential in expanding AACR’s international membership and played a major role in promoting multidisciplinary translational cancer research. He was one of the founding deputy editors of Clinical Cancer Research.

Career Highlights

2018 Giants of Cancer Care, OncLive®, Cranbury, New Jersey
2012 American Cancer Society Medal of Honor in Clinical Research
2008-2014 Member, National Cancer Advisory Board
2006-2009  Board of Directors, American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
2003 AACR-Cancer Research and Prevention Foundation Award
2001-present Head, Division of Cancer Medicine, UT MD Anderson Cancer Center
2001-2002 President, AACR
2000 David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award
2000 AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Award
1999-2001 Subspecialty Board of Medical Oncology, American Board of Internal Medicine
1996-2002 Board of Scientific Advisors, National Cancer Institute
1996 American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor
1994 Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
1993 AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award
1993 Member, Association of American Physicians
1967 MD, Yon Sei University School of Medicine