In This Section

Deadline Approaching: Apply by December 7 for the AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism

Awardees will receive $5,000 cash prize

PHILADELPHIA – The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) invites journalists to submit their stories for the 2023 AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism. These prestigious prizes recognize professional journalists who have produced accurate, informative, and compelling stories that enhance the public’s understanding of cancer research, advocacy, and policy. Each award is accompanied by a $5,000 unrestricted cash prize. The deadline for submission is Wednesday, December 7, 2022.

The AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism is open to professional journalists whose stories appear in media that target a lay public audience. Prizes are considered for six submission categories:

  • Large newspaper (circulation over 100,000)
  • Small newspaper (circulation under 100,000)
  • Magazine
  • Online/multimedia
  • Television
  • Auditory journalism (radio/podcasts)

Stories must have been published or broadcast for the first time between January 1, 2020, and November 30, 2022. Given the extended eligibility time frame, more than one prize recipient may be selected in each category.

The 2023 Biedler Prizes will be presented during the AACR Annual Meeting 2023 in Orlando, April 14-19.

This year’s judging panel, chaired by Clifton Leaf, author, journalist, and former editor-in-chief, FORTUNE, and vice-chaired by Ron Winslow, former senior medical correspondent and editor, The Wall Street Journal, includes esteemed journalists, communications professors, cancer researchers, and patient advocates.

To submit a story for consideration, visit the AACR website.

For more information, contact Michael J. Powell, PhD, director of scientific programs and strategic initiatives and staff liaison to the AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism, at [email protected] or 215-440-9373.