In This Section

American Association for Cancer Research Inaugurates New Leadership During AACR Annual Meeting 2024

Patricia M. LoRusso, DO, PhD (hc), FAACR, begins term as AACR President

SAN DIEGO – The members of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) have welcomed Patricia M. LoRusso, DO, PhD (hc), Fellow of the AACR Academy, as the AACR President for 2024-2025. She was inaugurated today at the AACR’s Annual Business Meeting of Members, held during the AACR Annual Meeting 2024 in San Diego, California.

LoRusso is a professor of medicine (medical oncology), chief of experimental therapeutics, associate cancer center director for experimental therapeutics, and leader of the Phase I disease aligned research team at Yale Cancer Center and Smilow Cancer Hospital. An internationally recognized expert in drug development and early-phase clinical investigation of novel therapies, LoRusso’s innovative and tireless leadership has helped shape the field of translational and clinical cancer research and has greatly contributed to crucial therapeutic breakthroughs for patients with cancer.

“I am extremely honored to have the opportunity to serve as AACR President for the coming year,” said LoRusso. “This is an exciting time for cancer research and cancer care delivery, but we are facing challenges as well. Clinical research must keep pace with the unparalleled scientific discoveries that we are achieving if we are to continue to reduce suffering and mortality from cancer. Moreover, we must ensure that all patients have access to clinical trials. If we do this, we will change the face of cancer. I look forward working with my fellow AACR members to promote the AACR’s mission and advocate for the support of cancer research—all with an eye to improving the care we provide for patients with cancer.”

LoRusso joined the AACR in 1988 and was elected as a Fellow of the AACR Academy in 2023. She served on the AACR Board of Directors from 2015 to 2018 and received the AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research in 2022. She currently serves with distinction as chair of the AACR Exploratory IND/Biomarker-Driven Clinical Trials Task Force; cochair of the AACR Precision Combination Therapy Task Force; member of the AACR Global Affairs Committee; member of the AACR Annual Meeting Clinical Trials Committee; and ex officio member of the AACR Finance and Audit Committee. She has been a member of the AACR Project GENIE External Advisory Board since its inception in 2015.

LoRusso’s extensive involvement with the AACR has also included serving as a chair (2022-2023) and member (2021-2022) of the AACR-Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research Award Committee; chair of the AACR Cancer Disparities Progress Report Steering Committee (2022); member, AACR Education and Training Committee (2019-2022); member, AACR Nominating Committee (2019-2021); chair (2019-2020) and member (2018-2019), AACR Satellite Educational Symposia Committee; member, AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism Judging Panel (2017-2020); member, AACR Continuing Medical Education Committee (2012-2014, 2017-2020); vice chair (2018-2019) and cochair (2013-2014, 2016-2017), AACR Annual Meeting Program Committee; member, AACR Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee (2016-2019); codirector (2016-2018) and faculty member (2004, 2005, 2009-2012), AACR/ASCO Methods in Clinical Cancer Research Workshop; faculty member, AACR Educational Workshop, “Australia & Asia Pacific Clinical Oncology Research Development” (2012, 2014, 2016, 2018); member, AACR Cancer Progress Report Steering Committee (2017); chair (2016-2017) and member (2012-2015), AACR Women in Cancer Research Council; chair, AACR Team Science Award Committee (2016-2017); cochair, AACR Annual Meeting Clinical Trials Committee (2012-2015); member, AACR Annual Meeting Exhibits Committee (2012-2014); member, AACR Clinical Research and Experimental Therapeutics Awards Selection Committee (2007-2009, 2012-2014); member, AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research Committee (2007-2009); member, AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award Committee (2007-2009); member, Scientific Review Committee, Second Annual International Conference on Molecular Diagnostics in Cancer Therapeutic Development (2007); member, AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Lectureship Committee (2006); and member, Scientific Program Committee, AACR-NCI-EORTC International Conference on Molecular Targets and Cancer Therapeutics (2003-2005).

LoRusso served on the editorial boards of the AACR journals Molecular Cancer Therapeutics (2012-2015) and Clinical Cancer Research (2011-2014). She was also coleader of the Stand Up To Cancer (SU2C)-Melanoma Research Alliance (MRA) Melanoma Dream Team. The AACR serves as the Scientific Partner of Stand Up To Cancer.

Throughout her career, LoRusso has received numerous honors and awards, including the World Affairs Council of Connecticut Luminary Award (2018); National Organization of Italian-American Women “Three Wise Women” honoree (2017); Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center the one hundred honoree (2014); ESMO Targeted Anticancer Therapies (TAT) Honorary Award (2014); Michigan State University Distinguished Alumni Award (2014); Karmanos Cancer Institute Faculty Award for Clinical Excellence (2013); American College of Osteopathic Internists Researcher of the Year Award (2010); National Cancer Institute Michaele Christian Oncology Development Award (2008); Crain’s Detroit Business Heroes of Healthcare Award (2008); Marygrove College Distinguished Alumni Award (2008); Top Doctors honoree (2007, 2009, 2011-2013, 2018); and the Michigan Society for Medical Research Bennett J. Cohen Educational Leadership Award for Medical Research (2004). LoRusso received an honorary PhD from Michigan State University in 2015 and was elected as a fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology in 2022.

LoRusso received her undergraduate degree from Marygrove College and her medical degree from Michigan State University. Prior to her Yale appointment, she served in numerous leadership roles at Wayne State University’s Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute, including as director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Program and of the Eisenberg Center for Translational Therapeutics. 

Download a photo of LoRusso


AACR President-Elect

Lillian L. Siu, MD, FAACR, was elected the AACR President-Elect for 2024-2025. She will assume the Presidency in April 2025 at the AACR Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Siu is a senior medical oncologist, director of the Phase I Clinical Trials Program, codirector of the Robert and Maggie Bras and Family Drug Development Program, clinical lead for the Tumor Immunotherapy Program, and the BMO Chair in Precision Cancer Genomics at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University Health Network. She is also a professor of medicine at the University of Toronto.

Immediate Past President

Philip D. Greenberg, MD, FAACR, will serve as the Immediate Past President of the AACR for 2024-2025. Greenberg is the Rona Jaffe Foundation Endowed Chair and professor and head of the Program in Immunology, Clinical Research Division, at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.