In This Section

Call for Submissions: AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism

Awardees to receive $5,000 cash prize

PHILADELPHIA — The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) is inviting journalists to submit their stories for the 2022 June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism. The prize recognizes individual professional journalists who have produced accurate, informative, and compelling stories that enhance the public’s understanding of cancer, cancer research, cancer advocacy, or cancer policy, including stories about the intersection of COVID-19 and cancer. The award carries a $5,000 unrestricted cash prize.

The AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism is open to print, broadcast, and online professional journalists whose stories appear in media that target a lay public audience. Annually, prizes are considered for six submission categories: large newspaper (circulation over 100,000); small newspaper (circulation under 100,000); magazine; online/multimedia; television; and auditory journalism (radio/podcasts). Stories must have been published or broadcast for the first time between January 1, 2020, and November 30, 2021.

The prize is funded by a major bequest to the AACR from June L. Biedler, PhD, a scientist, mentor, and pioneer in cancer research, and former member of the AACR Board of Directors. The application submission deadline for the 2022 AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism is Monday, December 6, 2021.

The judging panel, chaired by Clifton Leaf, editor-in-chief, FORTUNE, includes esteemed journalists, communications professors, cancer researchers, and patient advocates. Past panels have included media professionals who have worked for NBC News, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Houston Chronicle, PBS, and ABC News.

The 2022 AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism will be presented during the Opening Ceremony of the AACR Annual Meeting 2022 in New Orleans, April 8-13, 2022. For more information or to submit a story to be considered for the AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism, visit the AACR website or email Michael Powell at [email protected].