SABCS Thrives on Collaborative Spirit

The San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium (SABCS) has been providing cutting-edge information on breast cancer research to researchers, health professionals, and those with a special interest in breast cancer since its inception 40 years ago.

For the past decade, SABCS has been jointly sponsored by the UT Health San Antonio Cancer Center, the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), and Baylor College of Medicine, and a trio of renowned cancer scientists who represent each of the sponsors serve as the symposium’s codirectors. Currently the codirectors are C. Kent Osborne, MD, director of the Dan L. Duncan Cancer Center and of the Breast Center at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston; Virginia G. Kaklamani, MD, a professor of medicine at UT Health San Antonio; and Carlos L. Arteaga, MD, associate director for clinical research and director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

Osborne, Kaklamani, and Arteaga participated in a Facebook Live broadcast on Thursday. And in this video, originally presented in San Antonio this week, the codirectors reflect on some of the milestones that have occurred over the past 40 years. They also discuss how the decade-long official collaboration with the AACR has strengthened the program offerings on basic science and supported prizes for meritorious research. We look forward to continuing this relationship in the years to come.