In This Section
Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD

Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD

Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, South Carolina

Class of 2013

In ground-breaking research, Dr. DuBois elucidated the role of cyclooxygenase 2 (COX-2) in colon cancer and the contributions of the lipid metabolite prostaglandin E2 (PGE2) to tissue inflammation in the etiology of colon cancer. This research led to the finding that use of a COX-2 inhibitor reduced polyp formation in patients with familial adenomatous polyposis. His recent research has focused on molecules involved in tissue inflammation and epigenetic changes in colorectal cancer progression, showing that PGE2 induces DNA methylation in PGE2-treated colon cancer cells and mouse interstitial tissues, leading to selective silencing of tumor suppressor genes.

A physician scientist and administrator with expertise in basic, translational and clinical research, Dr. DuBois currently holds a joint appointment at the Mayo Clinic and is internationally renowned for his work in cancer prevention. Dr. DuBois’ current research at Arizona State University is focused on discovering combination therapies to advance the treatment of colorectal cancer.

Career Highlights

2019 Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine
2019 AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research
2018-present Editor-in-Chief, Cancer Prevention Research
2010 President, International Society for Gastrointestinal Cancer
2008-2009 President, AACR
2007-2012 Provost and Executive Vice President, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
2005-2007 Director, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
2004 Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
2004 Distinguished Achievement Award, American Gastroenterology Association
2004 Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Cancer Research Prize
2003-2006 Board of Directors, American Association for Cancer Research
2002 AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Cancer Research Award
2001-2007 Professor of Cancer Biology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
2000 President, Southern Society for Clinical Investigation
2000 Outstanding Investigator Award, American Federation for Medical Research
2000 Royal College of Physicians (by distinction), London, UK
1998-2004 Director of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
1985 MD, University of Texas Health Sciences Center
1981 PhD University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center