In This Section
Richard O. Hynes, PhD

Richard O. Hynes, PhD

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Class of 2014

Dr. Hynes is known worldwide for his research into uncovering the molecular basis for cell adhesion and for recognizing that changes in cell adhesion can alter cell function and contribute to human diseases, including cancer. He has played a vital role in characterizing the components that constitute the extracellular matrix of both normal and cancerous cells. This research has led to his discoveries of the fibronectin family of proteins and the large family of integrin proteins, both of which have been essential to the understanding of cellular adhesion and motility.

His research has provided great insights into the molecular mechanisms by which cell adhesion controls normal cellular functions as well as numerous natural processes, including blood clotting, wound healing, and immune system elimination of disease-causing pathogens. His work has been instrumental in unraveling the roles of altered cell adhesion in thrombosis, the inappropriate formation of a blood clot that obstructs blood flow, leukocyte traffic, angiogenesis and invasion and metastasis of malignant cancer cells. Dr. Hynes’ current research continues to focus on the role of cell adhesion in cancer, particularly metastases, which are responsible for 90 percent of all cancer deaths.

Career Highlights

2018 Paget-Ewing Award, Metastasis Research Society
2017 David Rall Medal, National Academy of Medicine
2017 Drexel Prize in Cancer Biology
2016 Inaugural ASCB Fellow
2012 Distinguished Investigator Award, International Society for Matrix Biology
2010 Earl P. Bennett Award, North American Vascular Biology Organization
2007 Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation Medical Research Award in Cancer Research
2007 E. B. Wilson Medal, American Society for Cell Biology
2004 Senior Associate Member, Broad Institute
1997 Canada Gairdner International Award
1996 Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.
1996 Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
1994 Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1989 Elected Fellow, The Royal Society, London
1987 Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
1971 PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology