In This Section

The AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism: Past Recipients

The AACR June L. Biedler Prize for Cancer Journalism has been established to showcase outstanding examples of cancer journalism, and to recognize individual professional journalists who have produced accurate, informative, and compelling stories.

Past recipients include:

Print and Online

Large newspaper (circulation >100,000)

2020: Alejandra Reyes-Velarde
2019: Jacqueline Charles and José Antonio Iglesias
2018: David Crow
2017: Billy Baker
2016: Todd Ackerman


2020: Kelly M. Servick
2019: Adam Piore and Natasha Loder
2018: Esther Landhuis and Natasha Loder
2017: Gareth Cook
2016: Tom Junod


2020: Eric S. Boodman
2019: Riley Wong, Caroline Chen, and Michele Gershberg
2018: Swagata Yadavar
2017: Damon Dahlen and Erin Schumaker
2016: Noah Levinson and Debra Galant

Small newspaper (circulation <100,000)

2020: Jennifer B. Hawes
2019: N/A
2018: N/A
2017: David Wahlberg
2016: N/A


Auditory Journalism (Radio and Podcasts)

2020: Michelle Fay Cortez
2019: Rob Stein
2018: Carey Goldberg
2017: N/A
2016: N/A


2020: Cynthia E. Newsome and Matt Reeb
2019: A.J. Lagoe and Jeff Kummer
2018: Jay Korff
2017: N/A
2016: Kay Colby