In This Section

Standing Committees

Cancer Prevention, Early Detection, and Interception Committee

The AACR Cancer Prevention, Early Detection, and Interception Committee helps to coordinate the long-term prevention agenda of the AACR. The committee is charged with strengthening existing AACR programs, publications, and other efforts related to cancer prevention research. The committee also serves to help develop initiatives to promote global cancer prevention, increase national awareness, and educate the lay public about cancer prevention.


Appointments pending

Continuing Medical Education Committee

The Continuing Medical Education (CME) Committee was established in 2009 to provide guidance on the strategic direction for the AACR Office of CME.


A. William Blackstock Jr., Chair 
Antonio T. Fojo
Steven Grant
Mignon L. Loh
Patricia M. LoRusso
Mark E. Robson
Steven T. Rosen
Edward A. Sausville
Additional appointments pending

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, whose members are the AACR elected officers, reviews issues to be considered by the board of directors. The Executive Committee is empowered to act on behalf of the board of directors between board meetings and performs such other duties that are usually part of their respective elected positions.


Elizabeth M. Jaffee, President
Elaine R. Mardis, President-elect
Michael A. Caligiuri, Past President
William N. Hait, Treasurer
Margaret Foti, CEO

Exhibits Committee

The Exhibits Committee works in an advisory capacity to review and approve new exhibitors and comment on the quality of the exhibits accepted at the Annual Meeting. 


Edward Chu, Chair
Craig J. Burd
Maximilian Diehn
Ajay Goel
Tari A. King
Amanda W. Lund
Gordon B. Mills
Meredith A. Morgan
Andrea L. Richardson
Janis M. Taube
Jeffrey A. Toretsky
Danny R. Welch
Douglas Yee

Finance and Audit Committee

The Finance and Audit Committee assists in the financial planning of the association, and is responsible for maintaining the financial health of the AACR, prioritizing and focusing resources on activities that support the mission of the AACR, and managing resources based on strategic priorities.


Thomas J. Lynch, Jr., Chair
Walter J. Curran Jr.
Susan M. Galbraith
Richard B. Gaynor
Mary J.C. Hendrix
Hervé J. Hoppenot
Candace S. Johnson
Michelle M. Le Beau
Bernard K. Levy
David B. McFadden
William H. Mears Jr.
Beverly S. Mitchell
Edith A. Perez
David M. Reese
Steven T. Rosen
Stephen D. Ryan
John H. Stewart IV
Cheryl L. Willman
William N. Hait, ex officio
Elizabeth M. Jaffee, ex officio
Elaine R. Mardis, ex officio

International Affairs Committee 

The International Affairs Committee (IAC) assists the AACR in pursuing its mission to prevent and cure cancer through research, education, communication, and collaboration worldwide. The IAC serves AACR’s increasing number of international members by enhancing their engagement in the organization. The IAC develops programs and initiatives that have the potential to enhance the quality of cancer research around the world; to contribute to building capacity in cancer science and medicine worldwide; to facilitate the development and exchange of ideas, information and technology among all international stakeholders; and to set an example of how to enhance cooperation among individuals, organizations and sectors in the cancer field.


Elizabeth M. Jaffee, Chair
Carlos L. Arteaga
Lewis C. Cantley
Susan M. Galbraith
Thomas W. Kensler
Edison T. Liu
Elaine R. Mardis
Frank McCormick
Hitoshi Nakagama
Olufunmilayo I. Olopade
Lillian L. Siu

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee, whose members are elected by the AACR voting membership, selects candidates for the offices of president-elect, the board of directors, and the nominating committee.


Judy E. Garber, Chair
Carlos L. Arteaga
Nina Bhardwaj
Suzanne Cory
Olivera J. Finn
Tak W. Mak
Karen H. Vousden
Owen N. Witte

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee was established to assist in maintaining and improving the quality of AACR journals while promoting their fiscal responsibility. The AACR Publications Committee has oversight responsibility for AACR’s journals: Cancer DiscoveryCancer EpidemiologyBiomarkers & PreventionCancer Immunology ResearchCancer Prevention ResearchCancer ResearchClinical Cancer ResearchMolecular Cancer Research; and Molecular Cancer Therapeutics. The Publications Committee is also responsible for oversight of any other AACR scholarly publications as they are developed.


Victor E. Velculescu, Chair
Dafna Bar-Sagi
Mary Helen Barcellos-Hoff
Michael E. Berens
John D. Carpten
Maura L. Gillison
Rakesh K. Jain
Pasi A. Jänne
Gerrit A. Meijer
Gordon B. Mills
Steffi Oesterreich
Gloria M. Petersen
David R. Piwnica-Worms
William Pao
Charles W.M. Roberts
Alice T. Shaw
Lillian L. Siu
Saraswati Sukumar
Toshikazu Ushijima
William N. Hait, ex officio

Science Education and Career Advancement Committee 

The Science Education and Career Advancement Committee focuses on cancer (science) education, outreach, and enhancement through activities directed at the undergraduate and high school levels. It is currently responsible for the AACR Science Education Awards for Undergraduate Students and the High School Program that takes place each year during the AACR Annual Meeting.


Kathleen W. Scotto, Chair
Lucile L. Adams-Campbell
Adriana Albini
Fabrice André
Dafna Bar-Sagi
Allison S. Betof-Warner
Oliver Bögler
John M. Carethers
Angelo M. DeMarzo
Caroline Dive
Sinisa Dovat
Steven M. Dubinett
Irene M. Ghobrial
Ernest T. Hawk
Susan Band Horwitz
Tari A. King
Ming Lei
Roger S. Lo
Beverly D. Lyn-Cook
Kim L. O’Neill
Timothy R. Rebbeck
Victoria M. Richon
Brian M. Rivers
Paul A. Scheet
Yu Shyr
Sanya A. Springfield
José G. Treviño II
Danny R. Welch
Jedd D. Wolchok

Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee


George D. Demetri, Chair
Lucile L. Adams-Campbell
Frederick R. Appelbaum
Alan Ashworth
Steven D. Averbuch
Anna D. Barker
Lisa H. Butterfield
John D. Carpten
Kenneth H. Cowan
John F. DiPersio
H. Shelton Earp III
Peter D. Emanuel
B. Mark Evers
Judy E. Garber
Stanton L. Gerson
Joe W. Gray
Lee M. Greenberger
Roy S. Herbst
Chanita Hughes-Halbert
Roy A. Jensen
Thomas W. Kensler
Steven K. Libutti
Patricia M. LoRusso
Christine M. Lovly
Sean J. Mulvihill
Augusto C. Ochoa
Gilbert S. Omenn
Edith A. Perez
David R. Piwnica-Worms
Brian M. Rivers
Eric H. Rubin
Ellen V. Sigal
Robert W. Sobol
Eduardo M. Sotomayor
Roger Stupp
Dan Theodorescu
Laura J. van ‘t Veer
Victor E. Velculescu
Robert H. Vonderheide
Geoffrey M. Wahl
George J. Weiner
Cheryl L. Willman
Robert A. Winn
Douglas Yee
Robert C. Young
Michael A. Caligiuri, ex officio
Elizabeth M. Jaffee, ex officio
Elaine R. Mardis, ex officio

Special Conferences Committee

The Special Conferences Committee is responsible for planning the AACR’s highly acclaimed special conferences series. Its members determine which topics are most timely and merit coverage in a special conference forum. It also evaluates conference proposals submitted for consideration in the series and identifies appropriate cancer researchers to organize each conference.


William C. Hahn, Chair
Cory Abate-Shen
Scott A. Armstrong
René Bernards
Andrea Califano
Lewis C. Cantley
Lisa M. Coussens
Luis A. Diaz
Robert J. Gillies
Joe W. Gray
Joanna L. Groden
Chanita Hughes-Halbert
David M. Hyman
Trey Ideker
Catriona H.M. Jamieson
Peter A. Jones
Philip W. Kantoff
Michael B. Kastan
Quynh-Thu Le
Massimo Loda
Scott Manalis
Elaine R. Mardis
Ira Mellman
Lisa A. Newman
Timothy R. Rebbeck
Charles M. Rudin
David A. Sabatini
Louis M. Staudt
Kimberly Stegmaier
Charles Swanton
Alejandro Sweet-Cordero
Giorgio Trinchieri
Nicholas C. Turner
Miguel A. Villalona-Calero
Jane E. Visvader
Anna M. Wu
Michael B. Yoffe
Lin Zhang

Tellers Committee

The Tellers Committee is charged with certifying all official AACR elections.


Nancy E. Davidson, Chair
Susan Band-Horwitz
V. Craig Jordan
Bruce A.J. Ponder