In This Section

AACR 50-year Members

The AACR is extremely pleased to recognize those scientists who have been members for 50 years. The AACR board of directors extends its sincere and heartfelt thanks to these members for their devotion to cancer research and long participation in and support of the AACR. The AACR is strong because of their contributions and involvement in its programs and activities. We thank them for these efforts and for their continued support of the association.

2020 Inductees to 50-year Member Ranks

The following 28 members will be inducted into the 50-year Member Ranks during the AACR Annual Meeting 2020, which will be held in San Diego, California. These distinguished members will be honored and recognized as 50-year members during the Annual Business Meeting event.

  • Robert E. Bases, MD; Bronx, New York; Emeritus Member
  • Enzo Bonmassar, MD, PhD; Rome, Italy; Emeritus Member
  • George Bryson, PhD; Santa Barbara, California; Emeritus Member
  • Edsel T. Bucovaz, PhD; Memphis, Tennessee; Emeritus Member
  • Ronald C. DeConti, MD; Tampa, Florida; Emeritus Member
  • Berta Fiszer-Szafarz, PhD; Orsay, France; Emeritus Member
  • John C. Harshbarger, PhD; Washington, District of Columbia; Emeritus Member
  • Karl E. Hellström, MD, PhD; Seattle, Washington; Emeritus Member
  • Donald L. Hill, PhD; Birmingham, Alabama; Emeritus Member
  • Dah Hsi W. Ho, PhD; Houston, Texas; Emeritus Member
  • Henri C. Isliker, DPhil; Lausanne, Switzerland; Emeritus Member
  • Hiroshi Kobayashi, MD, PhD; Sapporo, Japan; Emeritus Member
  • Michael A. Lea, PhD; Newark, New Jersey; Active Member
  • James K. Luce, MD; Amarillo, Texas; Emeritus Member
  • Usha K. Luthra, MD, PhD; Safat, Kuwait; Emeritus Member
  • Ulrich Mohr, MD; Hannover, Germany; Emeritus Member
  • Franco M. Muggia, MD; New York, New York; Active Member
  • Nubia Muñoz, MD; Lyon, France; Emeritus Member
  • Mark E. Nesbit, Jr., MD; Scottsdale, Arizona; Emeritus Member
  • Ion Petrea, DSc, MD; West Haven, Connecticut; Emeritus Member
  • Lionel A. Poirier, PhD; Little Rock, Arkansas, Emeritus Member
  • Leonard D. Saslaw, PhD; Washington, District of Columbia; Emeritus Member
  • Philip S. Schein, MD; Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania; Emeritus Member
  • Gordon H. Theilen, DVM; Davis, California; Emeritus Member
  • Douglass C. Tormey, MD; Steamboat Springs, Colorado; Emeritus Member
  • Gerald P. Warwick, PhD; Geneva, Switzerland; Emeritus Member
  • Marise Weil, MD; Paris, France; Emeritus Member
  • Clifford W. Welsch, PhD; DeWitt, Michigan; Emeritus Member

Inducted 50-year Members

2019 |2018 |2017 | 2016 | 2015

2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

2009 | 2008 | 2007 |2006 | 2005

2004 | 2003

Statements of Reflections

Reflections from members over decades of participation in the AACR