In This Section

AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research: Past Recipients

This award honors an individual who has made significant fundamental contributions to cancer research, either through a single scientific discovery or a body of work.

Past recipients include:

2024: Steven A. Rosenberg*
2023: Carl H. June*
2022: Tony Hunter*
2021: Frederick W. Alt
2020: Phillip A. Sharp*
2019: Emil J Freireich*
2018: Joseph R. Bertino*
2017: Mina J. Bissell*
2016: Robert A. Weinberg*
2015: Mario R. Capecchi*
2014: Douglas Hanahan*
2013: Harold L. Moses*
2012: Beatrice Mintz*
2011: Susan Band Horwitz*
2010: Janet D. Rowley*
2009: Joseph F. Fraumeni Jr.*
2008: Harald zur Hausen*
2007: Donald Metcalf*
2006: Bernard Fisher*
2005: Alfred G. Knudson Jr.*
2004: Emil Frei III*

*Fellow of the AACR Academy