In This Section

AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Lectureship: Past Recipients

The WICR Friend Lectureship is presented to an outstanding scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of women in science.

Past recipients include:

2024: Elizabeth L. Travis
2023: Cory Abate-Shen
2022: Martine F. Roussel
2021: Marsha A. Moses
2020: Patricia S. Steeg

Prior to 2020, this award was known as the AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship.

2019: Jennifer R. Grandis*
2018: Dafna Bar-Sagi*
2017: Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale
2016: Angelika Amon
2015: Sara A. Courtneidge
2014: Charis Eng
2013: Guillermina Lozano
2012: Lisa M. Coussens*
2011: Carol L. Prives*
2010: Elaine V. Fuchs*
2009: Jessica K. Tyler
2008: Nancy E. Davidson*
2007: Janet S. Butel
2006: Nancy Hopkins
2005: Joan S. Brugge*
2004: Titia de Lange*
2003: Janet D. Rowley*
2002: Ellen S. Vitetta
2001: Zena Werb*
2000: Leona D. Samson
1999: Lorraine L. Gudas
1998: Frances Visco

Prior to 1998, the lectureship was known as the WICR Keynote Lecture.

1997: Mary-Claire King*
1996: Cora B. Marrett
1995: Gertrude B. Elion
1994: Mary Ellen Jones
1993: Florence Haseltine