In This Section

AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research: Past Recipients

This award honors an individual who has made significant fundamental contributions to cancer research, either through a single scientific discovery or a body of work.

Past recipients include:

2020: Phillip A. Sharp
2019: Emil J. Freireich
2018: Joseph R. Bertino
2017: Mina J. Bissell
2016: Robert A. Weinberg
2015: Mario R. Capecchi
2014: Douglas Hanahan
2013: Harold L. Moses
2012: Beatrice Mintz
2011: Susan Band Horwitz
2010: Janet D. Rowley
2009: Joseph F. Fraumeni Jr.
2008: Harald zur Hausen
2007: Donald Metcalf
2006: Bernard Fisher
2005: Alfred G. Knudson Jr.
2004: Emil Frei III